The 3rd Christchurch Floorball Open was the biggest yet, with eight teams playing for the cup. Hosted by the Christchurch Quake Floorball Club, the tournament was held at the Ara Institute of Canterbury on 16-17 July 2016. It came down to an all Wellington final, with Wellington Yellow taking the title.

Final Placings
1. Wellington Yellow
2. Wellington White
3. Christchurch Red
4. Christchurch Black
5. Southern Lakers
6. Auckland Stars 2
7. Auckland Stars 1
8. Hawkins Construction
Best Players
Top Player - Sophie Scott (Wellington Yellow)
Best Player - Petr Sramek (Christchurch Red)
MVP - Nia Emrys (Wellington White)
Best Goalie - Darren Patrick (Wellington White)
Best Defender - William Goldberg (Auckland)
The second round of the FNZ Championship Series also took place alongside the Christchurch Floorball Open.
FNZ Championship Series Round Two Results (16-17 July 2016, Christchurch)
Wellington U19 vs. Auckland Stars - 11:3
Christchurch Quake vs. Wellington Storm - 4:4
Wellington Storm vs. Auckland Stars - 10:1
Christchurch Quake vs Wellington U19 - 7:1